Monday 24 June 2024

News Analysed, Opinions Expressed

Culture | Yuva Mahotsav

Remo to attend Yuva Mahotsav for both days


Remo Fernandes, a Goan artist and pop singer of international repute, will attend the seventh Goa Yuva Mahotsav, scheduled to be held at Valpoi in Sattari taluka, on both the days – 25 and 26 January.

Remo will also preside over the concluding ceremony of the Mahotsav on the last day, to be held at 4.30 pm, and give away prizes to the winners. Art and Culture Minister Ramarao Desai will be the chief guest at the function. The Mahotsav will be inaugurated at the hands of Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar on 25 January at 9.30 am.

Swati Naik, a young teacher who has been actively involved in organising the Yuva Mahotsav for the last six years, has been chosen as the Working President of the Mahtosav this year.

The whole area of the Mahotsav, comprising of three different pandals and two halls, has been named as Mhadei Nagar, highlighting the burning issue of diversion of river Mhadei that will create serious environmental problems for the whole state. The Mahotsav will also include an exhibition, portraying these issues.

Vivekanand Kala Sadarinkaran Manch, the local co-organisers of Konkani Bhasha Mandal’s Mahotsav, will also display yet another exhibition of Lokvastu (several things used by the people from ancient times), by erecting a typical village-styled ‘khopti’ (hut). Book exhibitions will also be part of it.

Besides Remo, several other luminaries in the field of performing art and literature will also attend the Mahotsav to judge 16 different events taking place simultaneously at different places in Mhadei Nagar. These include folklore experts Pandurang Phaldesai and Kanta Gaude, painters Harshada Kerkar and Hanumant Kambli as well as writers Dilip Borkar, Rajendra Kerkar, Nayana Adarkar and Mukesh Thali.

Prominent theatre personalities like Shridhar Kamat Bambolkar, Sanjay Talwatkar, Prof. Bhaskar Nayak and Dilip Dhargalkar; eminent journalists like Ashwin Tombat, Prakash Kamat, Sanjay Dhawalikar, Umesh Mhambre and Anant Salkar; singers Agnel de Borim, Saish Palondikar, Ketan Bhat, Shravan Dubhashi, Elvis Goes and Johnson Fernandes; social activists Adv Satish Sonak, Adv Avinash Bhosle and Manoj Joshi and other talents like Dharmanand Vernekar, Dr Oscar Rebello, Shashank Shinkre and Prasad Shinkre will also attend the festival as judges.

Around 2000 participants, representing different higher secondary schools, colleges and open groups from villages and cities from all over the state are expected to attend the two-day residential type Mahotsav, which is considered to be the most prestigious festival of the state today. is now on Telegram & also Youtube. Kindly subscribe for free & remain updated.

Verification Code Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image