Sunday 14 July 2024

News Analysed, Opinions Expressed

Politics | Assembly '02

Result chart of Assembly 2002 poll

Bharatiya Janata Party emerged as the single largest party with 17 seats, in a hung Assembly of 40. Congress won 16, only one less to the saffron party. The UGDP won three seats, MGP two, ... READ

HC fines Congmen, dismisses petition

Goa's three leading Congress legislators have been fined by the high court for wasting time of the court for their own political gains, while dismissing their pleas challenging dissolution of the state Assembly on 27 ... READ

Photo I-cards must for polls

In spite of parties like the Congress urging to follow old procedures, the Election Commission of India has decided to make photo identification compulsory in the Assembly polls, scheduled in Goa on 30 May. READ

Jaitley awaits consensus to stop defections

'Broad consensus' is the word apparently the central government is playing with to legally stop the menace of defections that has totally ruined the Indian polity, but has helped the political parties to come to ... READ

210 remain in fray

Decks are cleared now with 210 contestants finally remaining in fray for the Goa Assembly polls, as 27 independent contestants withdrew on the last day of withdrawal today. READ

All 40 pose vishwas in Vishwas

Vishwas Satarkar, 37, was elected unopposed the speaker of the Goa Legislative Assembly today. READ

BJP gains little, loses more

Union home minister Lal Krishna Advani may claim that the Bharatiya Janata Party has turned victorious in the crucial mid-term Assembly elections in Goa. But in reality, it has lost more while gaining little. READ

UGDP opposes beach & school privatisation

Demanding a common minimum programme for the Bharatiya Janata Party-led coalition, the United Goans Democratic Party has expressed reservations over the BJP government's crucial policy decisions like beach or school privatisation. READ

Supporting 5 get imp. portfolios

The five ministers supporting the newly installed Bharatiya Janata Party-led coalition government in Goa have been allocated most influential portfolios by chief minister Manohar Parrikar. READ

Parrikar inducts 13-member cabinet

The Bharatiya Janata Party-led coalition government was today morning sworn in with a 13-member cabinet, under the leadership of Manohar Parrikar. READ

Inside Politics

Toppling Games

» Will probable defectors ...

Lok Sabha '98

» BJP fields defectors ...

Lok Sabha '99

» Church prefers BJP's ...

Assembly '02

» Result chart of ...

Assembly '07

» 72% vote, ...


» Babush joins Goa ...

Local Bodies

» SC raps Goa ...

Lok Sabha 14

» Goa police seize ...

Assembly 17

» Gadkari reveals how ...

Lok Sabha 19

» Congress won South ...