Thursday 25 July 2024

News Analysed, Opinions Expressed

Politics | Lok Sabha 14

BJP wins both Goa seats once again after 15 years


The Bharatiya Janata Party won both the seats once again almost after 15 years, with Shripad Naik becoming the MP for the fourth time while Narendra Sawaikar making a debut.

This is a second time the BJP has defeated the traditional Congress bastion – South Goa – after Ramakant Angle in 1999.

Riding over Modi wave, Naik defeated Congress candidate and former chief minister Ravi Naik by over one lakh votes.

Sawaikar won by only 32,000 votes, but after battling hard with Congress MLA Aleixo Reginald Lourenco, who was strongly supported by the Church.


Naik missed the record of leading in all the 20 segments of North Goa, by one Assembly segment of Calangute, where Congress got a lead, but of only 115 votes.

In fact Naik defeated even the Congress stalwarts in their Assembly segments, like Poriem and Valpoi of Pratapsing and Vishwajeet Rane, St Cruz and Taleigao of Babush and Jennifer Monseratte and Cumbarjua of Pandurang Madkaikar.

Calangute was seized from the Congress by its BJP MLA Michael Lobo, who could not give lead to Naik as his right hand man Joseph Sequeira joined the Congress bandwagon last minute.

Though the Congress tried to retain its supremacy in Salcete taluka by leading in six out of eight segments, the margin was this time very low, compared to any Lok Sabha election in the past.

Besides Lourenco’s constituency of Curtorim, the Congress also got a lead in Benaulim, Navelim, Cuncolim and Velim.

Incidentally, Cuncolim is today represented by BJP’s Rajan Naik while Navelim independent MLA Avertan Furtado is the minister in Manohar Parrikar government.

Similarly, Nuvem and Benaulim are represented by Mickky Pacheco and his colleague Caitu Silva, both of the Goa Vikas Party, who support the BJP-led coalition government in Goa.

However, in spite of the Church openly supporting the Congress against ‘communal’ Modi, the BJP-supporting Christian MLAs in these six segments put up a brave front by minimizing the Congress lead substantially.

The real defeat of the Congress however was in four Assembly segments of South – Margao represented by ex-chief minister Digambar Kamat, Quepem by Babu Kavalekar and de facto election agent of Lourenco – Fatorda independent MLA Vijay Sardesai.

The lead in Fatorda for the BJP was however hardly 438, compared to 1128 in Margao and 1721 in Quepem.

Mauvin Godinho, Congress MLA of Dabolim, openly worked against his own party this time and provided a lead of 3295 to MP-elect Sawaikar.

The biggest leads to the BJP however were provided by their alliance partner Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party and their minister brothers – Sudin and Dipak Dhawalikar, in the South and the North.

Sudin’s Madkai segment of South Goa literally wiped out the Congress with a lead of over 11,000 while Dipak’s Priol in North recorded lead of over 13,000 to the BJP. is now on Telegram & also Youtube. Kindly subscribe for free & remain updated.

Total Comments :6

Verification Code Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image

Thank you so much for this arlicte, it saved me time!

Jessalyn , 1Y6VlP0T

@Peter. Goa Church Should Immediately Excommunicate Them And Set Example For Others. It Is Better To Have Only One Honest Christian In The Church Than To Have Hundred Corrupt and Communal Christians In The Church.

Jose Rod , Goa

Correct me if I am wrong but my Gut feeling says that Sanjay Kumar and Domnick is one and the same person. Your poor knowledge of English language is known from your posts so it's not surprising that you are blaming the church.

Peter , Goa

I was very happy to hear about BJP winning both seats in Goa. People should not fall about congress propaganda and wrong teaching against BJP. Ignored Church leaders

if they asked to misguide and hate which in not correct position of the church they should not involved politics,

Church duty to teach their people good and not to hate without any reasons.Congress ruined whole county with

heavy corruption, criminal, looting. Goa is main old heroes

still in politics, it they still in congress party no more congress in India. Retire Sharad, Ravi, Digambar, Churchill, Digambar, Babush, Rane, Mauvin and many more criminal in congress party.One big mistake done

by Reginaldo (South) being stand congress party dirt overflow and remaining his carrier got jeopardize. So better try to clean before new election. Ravi is a criminal and drug dealer who come congress allow him to be north goa MP.

Congress learn good lesson..

Domnick , \Goa

It was a good sign in south and north Goa defeating congress party. Congrats to BJP, People judgment was

correct on right time to kill corruption party like congress.

Since 30 years congress run this country any development

in progress on tendering airports, road and cheating people. First of all Modi done marvelous job to win not like

congress leaders. We appeal under Modi prime minstership

clean up all corruption. Swap them bring down home those who are serving long same places..Congress mess whole country bribe, criminal, cheating grabbing country.All leaders must accountability each and every peny they bank in bank balances. Bring them to justice

whoever it is. Suresh Kalmadi, Chidambaram, Sharad Pawar Tharror. Praful, Anthony,and many more leaders may hide and escape..

Sanjay Kumar , Margao

Congratulations to Mr.Parrikar's re-election

Alice desousa , Portugal



Latest News

» Will probable ...
» Kejri’s ‘Bhandari’ ...
» Deficit budget ...
» Did RG ...
» The Kings ...
» BJP bottle ...
» Will 'Didi' ...
» SC raps ...
» Shripad Naik ...
» Prez urged ...

Lok Sabha 14

» Goa police seize ...
» Devu appears before ...
» FB post was ...
» Police didn't intend ...
» Shripad elevated to ...
» DGP assures fair ...
» Will Mauvin be ...
» Parrikar wants Shripad ...
» goanews to provide ...
» RSS-BJP survey predicts ...