Thursday 20 June 2024

News Analysed, Opinions Expressed

Politics | Assembly 12

New Govt in couple of days, Digambar resigns

The Bharatiya Janata Party-led alliance will form a new government within couple of days. READ

BJP wins 21 seats, with MGP 24 seats, Cong only 9

In a historic election that stunned everybody, the Bharatiya Janata Party emerged as the single largest party with absolute majority of 21 seats in the 40-member House. READ

14 MLAs - 11 of Congress - kicked out

Eleven MLAs of the Congress, two of the NCP and one BJP were made to bite dust in the Assembly election, including big stalwarts and eight ministers. READ

Alemaos-Ravis get a bashing, but not Ranes-Monserattes-Dhawalikars

All the four Alemaos and both Ravi Naiks were thrown out by the electorate, but elected both Ranes and both Monserattes of the Congress besides both Dhawalikars and Pandurang Madkaikar. READ

Result Chart of Assembly 2012 Election

Bardez, Mormugao and Pedne are three talukas that have strengthened the position of the BJP in Goa while North Goa, minus Sattari, have brought the saffron brigade to power. READ

Poll results expected by 11 am

The counting of votes for the Goa assembly elections would take place on Tuesday at two places and the results would be out by 10 am to 11 am, officials said on Monday. READ

10 Independents are front runners

At least ten independent candidates appear to be front runners in the Goa Assembly election, results of which would be declared tomorrow. READ

4 of 5 states break voting records, Manipur declines, Goa highest

A highest ever voter turnout marked the staggered Assembly elections in five states, which ended on Saturday with Uttar Pradesh and Goa joining Punjab and Uttarakhand in breaking all previous records. READ

21 constituencies vote over 80%

More than half, almost 21, constituencies have recorded over 80 per cent in the historic Assembly poll on 3 March. READ

Both groups claim 22 to 24 seats

Both ruling and opposition parties have claimed that the historic turnout would go in their favour, with their alliances getting between 20 to 24 seats. READ

Inside Politics

Toppling Games

» Will probable defectors ...

Lok Sabha '98

» BJP fields defectors ...

Lok Sabha '99

» Church prefers BJP's ...

Assembly '02

» Result chart of ...

Assembly '07

» 72% vote, ...


» Babush joins Goa ...

Local Bodies

» SC raps Goa ...

Lok Sabha 14

» Goa police seize ...

Assembly 17

» Gadkari reveals how ...

Lok Sabha 19

» Congress won South ...