Sunday 21 July 2024

News Analysed, Opinions Expressed

Politics | Assembly 17

Gadkari reveals how BJP formed Govt in Goa

Nitin Gadkari revealed for the first time as to how the BJP turned its defeat in the Goa Assembly election into a victory while the Congress leaders waited for an opportunity that slipped away from ... READ

Vijai, Rohan lift major portfolios, Sudin retains PWD

Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar allotted the first instalment of portfolios today, with one to each among his nine colleagues. READ

When Nitin Gadkari worked all night to snatch Goa from Congress

It was a call from BJP chief Amit Shah to Union Minister Nitin Gadkari on March 11 evening which set off a flurry of activities that culminated in the party mobilising support of a motley ... READ

BJP complains, police file FIR against Congman Girish, media also ‘indicted’

Panaji police have filed FIR against All India Congress Committee Secretary Girish Chodankar for defaming BJP with an allegation of a deal of Rs 1000 crore to form a coalition government. READ

The chronology of events, as told by Faleiro, of how Vijai ditched them

Goa Pradesh Congress Committee President Luizinho Faleiro had alleged that Goa Forward leader Vijai Sardesai and independent MLA Rohan Khaunte ditched the Congress because they had a secret pre-poll alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party. ... READ

BJP vs Congress Goa battle rocks Parliament

Congress leader Digvijaya Singh, embarrassingly outwitted by the BJP in Goa, took his complaint against the state's Governor Mridula Sinha to the Rajya Sabha or upper house of Parliament this morning. READ

The ‘wealthy’ Goa Assembly of less 'educated' and increasing ‘criminals’

This Goa Assembly has created a record of till date. More MLAs are filthy rich but less educated and equally sizeable number is having criminal cases against them. READ

Vishwajeet quits Cong, supporting Parrikar Govt. To be a minister?

Within three hours after he took oath as a newly elected MLA from Valpoi, Congressman Vishwajeet Rane as quit the party and support the BJP-led Manohar Parrikar government. READ

Parrikar wins trust vote with 22 while Vishwajeet walks out

The first day of the Goa Assembly marked with a spark of protest in the opposition Congress while chief minister Manohar Parrikar won the trust vote by 22 against 16. READ

Parrikar’s 9-member team sworn in amidst protest and boycott

Amidst people’s protest and boycott by top leaders of Goa Forward, Manohar Parrikar was sworn in as the chief minister for the fourth time today evening, along with nine cabinet colleagues. READ

Inside Politics

Toppling Games

» Will probable defectors ...

Lok Sabha '98

» BJP fields defectors ...

Lok Sabha '99

» Church prefers BJP's ...

Assembly '02

» Result chart of ...

Assembly '07

» 72% vote, ...


» Babush joins Goa ...

Local Bodies

» SC raps Goa ...

Lok Sabha 14

» Goa police seize ...

Assembly 17

» Gadkari reveals how ...

Lok Sabha 19

» Congress won South ...