Sunday 21 July 2024

News Analysed, Opinions Expressed

Politics | Assembly 12

Wagh-Vishwajeet didn't spend on election meets

All elected members of Goa Legislative Assembly spent much less than the Election Commission of India's (ECI) guidelines for expenses during the state polls held in March last year. READ

Cong lost due to its own mistakes: Sardinha

Still smarting under its debacle in the Assembly polls, Goa Congress today said that the party had to pay a heavy price at the hustings owing to its own "mistakes". READ

Anant Shet elected Dy Speaker unopposed

Mayem MLA Ananat Shet was elected the deputy speaker unopposed today. READ

Speaker Arlekar appeals for सहिष्णुता (tolerance)

Rajendra Arlekar, newly elected Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly, has appealed to all the legislators to follow the rich Indian democratic tradition of सहिष्णुता (tolerance). READ

Only 7 takers for Konkani, all 40 MLAs take oath

The newly elected Assembly found only seven takers for Konkani, to take oath in their own mother tongue, 25 years after the same Goa Assembly made Konkani Goa’s official language. READ

Arlekar to be elected the Speaker

BJP legislator Rajendra Arlekar will be elected as the Speaker of the Goa legislative assembly in the election that will be held tomorrow, the first day of the session. READ

Rane to be opposition leader, Subhash to continue till replacement

Congress president Sonia Gandhi has decided that former speaker Pratapsing Rane would be the opposition leader. READ

Lobbying begins for CLP & GPCC posts as Subhash to quit

Lobbying has begun in Congress as usual for the top posts of legislature leaders as well as the Pradesh Congress Committee president. READ

Catholics' Front demands apology from Churchill

A Church-backed organisation has demanded public apology from Churchill Alemao, defeated Congress heavyweight, for his remarks against the Christian priests. READ

Digambar & Subhash involved in illegal mining: Churchill

Churchill Alemao today threw a bombshell from within the Congress, alleging that both former chief minister Digambar Kamat and GPCC chief Subhash Shirodkar are involved in illegal mining. READ

Inside Politics

Toppling Games

» Will probable defectors ...

Lok Sabha '98

» BJP fields defectors ...

Lok Sabha '99

» Church prefers BJP's ...

Assembly '02

» Result chart of ...

Assembly '07

» 72% vote, ...


» Babush joins Goa ...

Local Bodies

» SC raps Goa ...

Lok Sabha 14

» Goa police seize ...

Assembly 17

» Gadkari reveals how ...

Lok Sabha 19

» Congress won South ...