Monday 20 May 2024

News Analysed, Opinions Expressed

Politics | Toppling Games

Rane, Willy, Sudin sworn in


Congress leader Pratapsing Rane was sworn in as the chief minister of Goa today morning, after revoking the proclamation of the three-month old President’s rule.

Along with him, Governor S C Jamir also administered oath of secrecy to Nationalist Congress Party leader Dr Wilfred de Souza and Sudin Dhawalikar of the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party

De Souza will be the deputy chief minister in the Congress-led alliance government.

Former chief minister Manohar Parrikar and his BJP colleagues, besides other Congress leaders, also attended the swearing in ceremony, held at the Raj Bhavan.

Rane later told journalists that he would shortly expand the cabinet.

In a 39-member Assembly, Rane enjoys support of 21 members, including 18 from the Congress, two from the NCP and one MGP person.

The Congress strength increased from 15 as the recently held by-elections made three Congressmen victorious while the BJP could win only one seat.

These three Congressmen – Digambar Kamat, Babush Monserette and Pandurang Madkaikar – had quit the BJP in February, thereby toppling the four-year old Parrikar government.

Isidore Fernandes, another Congressman who had quit the BJP along with them, however could not win the polls.

Rane is taking over sixth time as the chief minister. The 66-year old veteran politician was first elected the Congress chief minister in 1980 and ruled Goa for 10 years undisputedly.

However, he was toppled within 75 days when he took over the reins for the third time in 1990. That had also started the infamous defection era in Goa.

He was once again made the chief minister in 1994, but was toppled once again by his then deputy Dr de Souza within three and a half years.

He got the fifth opportunity in February this year, when Parrikar government was toppled. However, he could not prove his majority on the floor of the House and his era came to an end within one month.

Goa was then brought under the brief spell of the President’s rule. is now on Telegram & also Youtube. Kindly subscribe for free & remain updated.

Verification Code Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image



Toppling Games

» Will probable defectors ...
» Will disqualification petition ...
» Goa Forward embraces ...
» Full Goa Assembly ...
» Babu & Pavaskar ...
» Is Arun Desai’s ...
» BJP calls Sudin ...
» Parrikar through his ...
» Sonia summoned & ...
» John claims he ...