Sunday 14 July 2024

News Analysed, Opinions Expressed

Politics | Assembly 17

Did Rahul agree to alliance as Rane threatened not to contest?


Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi finally agreed ‘in principle’ to have alliance is learnt to be the outcome of final attempt by opposition leader Pratapsing Rane and former CM Digambar Kamat.

Kamat was summoned to Delhi last minute by Rahul to hear his view before the final list goes to the Central Election Committee headed by Sonia Gandhi, which met tonight.

Rane as well as GPCC chief Luizinho Faleiro were already in Delhi for the second round of the screening committee meeting, headed by Venugopal.

Sources revealed to that Rane threatened the high command not to contest if the leadership doesn’t agree to the proposal of alliance.

It is learnt that both the leaders convincingly argued how the alliance could help the Congress to defeat the divided BJP camp and come back to power as a united opposition. 

While Rahul finally agreed ‘in principle’, it is learnt that the issue of Nationalist Congress Party was not put forward by anybody.

It was only the Goa Forward and United Goans Party of Babush Monseratte.

The information also revealed that the Congress would align with Babush in Panaji, provided his three candidates contest on Congress ticket.

These are Jennifer Monseratte (already a Congress MLA) from Taleigao, former Congress MLA Francis Silveira from St Andre and Tony Fernandes from St Cruz.

Babush earlier in the morning told the media that he has also demanded Cortalim ticket for Ramakant Borkar.

But Congress apparently is insisting on fielding Gilbert Marian Fernandes from Cortalim.

On the other hand, Rahul and the screening committee has agreed to give four seats to Goa Forward.


This included Vijai Sardesai from Fatorda, Jayesh Salgaonkar from Saligao, Vinod Palayekar from Siolim and a surprise name of Rohan Khaunte from Porvorim.

Vijai welcomed the decision of the Congress leadership agreeing in principle to the proposal of alliance, but expressed total ignorance over the number of seats as well as the candidates.

But Rohan’s name figuring in the list was reportedly a surprise also in the GF camp.

It is learnt that Rohan has been desperately trying in all the camps also to get his brother fielded from Aldona along with him while nobody wants to take a risk of Family Raj tag in this election.

Khaunte camp however is silent on this whole issue while Rohan himself is busy campaigning, presently continuing as an independent candidate.

More than Rohan, sources said in Goa Forward, their first preference would be Velim where they have already declared Anthony alias Babush Rodrigues as the candidate.

But Congress learnt to have already decided to field former MLA Philip Neri Rodrigues from Velim.

Though outcome of the CEC meeting on these issues was not known  when this report was published, sources say the decision on the alliance would be finalised in a couple of days only after the Congress leadership meets the leaders of Goa Forward as well as United Goans Party.

Meanwhile, sources also disclosed to that NCP leader Sharad Pawar was trying for the last-minute efforts to accommodate the NCP in the alliance with at least two seats – Churchill Alemao from Benaulim and local president Jose Philip D’Souza from Vasco.

It is learnt that Faleiro is pressing for the NCP alliance if he has to contest Navelim so that he gets Churchill’s support in his former constituency.

Until the decision is taken on these crucial issues, the final list of Congress candidates may be kept in abeyance and only undisputed seats would be announced once CEC clears it. is now on Telegram & also Youtube. Kindly subscribe for free & remain updated.

Total Comments :6

Verification Code Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image

Congress has no shame. A Shameless Party. After eating 35 Thousands Corer Rupees of Goans, still they want to contest Goa election. They think Goans are fool and they will vote to that party which has looted Goans of amount 35 Thousand Corer Rupees. Congress must first give 10 Lakhs rupees to each Goan family from the looted 35 Thousand Corers rupees and then decide to contest Goa Assembly Election. If not give then Congress will get Zero Seat.

Jack De Goan , Goa

Take money from Congress and BJP but vote AAP. They have looted Goans for many years and now it is our time to loot them. Ask double amount from both of them to vote them but instead vote AAP. Let them know that GOANS ARE NOT FOR SALE. Vote AAP for the sake of our children, whom we love them very much. We have suffered a lot, but our children should not suffer in Goa anymore. Let us give our Children a secure and bright future. Viva Goa. Viva Goan. Viva AAP.

Jack De Goan , Goa

AAP – 32 Seats

BJP – 8 Seats


This is ground report and not studio survey!

Jack De Goan , Goa

Same ideology = BJP+MGP+SS+RSS+BBSM – Best Combination

Same ideology = CONGRESS+NCP+GF+UGDP+GVP+UGP – Best Combination

Jack De Goan , Goa

Congress released the chargesheet against a MLA in Fatorda and then enters into a poll alliance with him. A MLA who worked against Congress & was kicked out of Congress has now forged an alliance with Congress for seat in Panaji. What a Joke!!!!!!!!!! The motto of congress is corruption & loot. Like minded looters meet.

Goa for Goans , Goa

Congress party is the BIGGEST looter of Goa. Looting, corruption and scams such as illegal Mining, manipulation on tenders in PWD, SEZ&IDC midtech land scam, jobs scam in Health Dept, RP 2021 favoring Builder lobby, money laundering etc are the biggest achievements of Congress. Congrass is not suited to rule Goa again and should be dumped in garbage in current assembly election. Their past CM Digoo is a promoter of illegal mining worth 35000 crores.Their current present Luizinho has fraudulently occupied Zug mobor and Kesarval plateaus

Goa for Goans , Goa



Latest News

» Will probable ...
» Kejri’s ‘Bhandari’ ...
» Did RG ...
» The Kings ...
» BJP bottle ...
» Will 'Didi' ...
» CM & ...
» Dr Suresh ...
» Will disqualification ...
» Opt for ...

Assembly 17

» Gadkari reveals how ...
» Vijai, Rohan lift ...
» When Nitin Gadkari ...
» BJP complains, police ...
» The chronology of ...
» BJP vs Congress ...
» The ‘wealthy’ Goa ...
» Vishwajeet quits Cong, ...
» Parrikar wins trust ...
» Parrikar’s 9-member team ...